Vintage autos and their owners from times gone by

Happy Anniversary Hal and Lois! 62 years!

halloI found this in a volume of GM Photographic PR shots at a flea market of all places. You can imagine my disbelief, why? The two subjects seated in this 1950 Chevrolet DeLuxe Convertible are none other than my parents. My Dad worked at GM at the time and was dating my mom when they were asked to pose for this shot. I’m told the photo was used as reference for a painted billboard back in the day. My parent’s 15 minutes of fame, perhaps, but on April 14th, 2013 they’ll celebrate 62 years being together — that’s real fame. My Dad still behind the wheel (of a much newer Chevy) and my Mom still smiling beside him. Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad!

2 responses

  1. Eugene H. Diggs

    Was your father’s nickname “Buzz” and your mother’s maiden name “Bingman” ? If so I lived on the same block in northwest Detroit and as Lois and younger brother Phil, my best friend back then. Let me know. genediggs@aol.com

    April 9, 2013 at 11:21 am

    • yeti

      Yes sir! All points correct! I will tell them you saw this and wished them a happy anniversary!

      April 9, 2013 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

